Support for

Creating a better future for Australian apple and pear growers,
through industry leadership and commercial advancement.

APAL is proud to present the 2023 Awards for Excellence recipients, a group of outstanding individuals who have helped shape and influence our industry across all areas.

Featured Image

Grower of the Year Award – Murray Collins 

Grower of the Year is awarded to an outstanding apple or pear grower across all aspects of production – from growing, to environmental management, staff management and product quality. They are innovative, challenge convention and implement effective practices, while actively contributing to the broader industry. 

Murray Collins has built a reputation for excellence in growing premium fruit that is sought out by consumers in WA. 

The recent diversification of his business and investment in a sound risk management strategy has ensured the sustainable evolution of Murray’s business as he continues to grow high-quality product while ensuring supply security.  

One of the early adopters of netting in WA and now with arguably the largest permanent netted orchard in the state, Murray’s commitment to ensuring quality and fruit growing excellence across their operations must be commended.  

Passionate about growing premium fruit and leading the WA industry with their early adoption of emerging growing techniques and new varieties, we applaud the 2023 Grower of the Year, Murray Collins of Collins Brothers. 

Featured Image
Featured Image
Featured Image

Lifetime Achievement Award – Sue Finger 

The Lifetime Achievement accolade recognises an individual working in, or retired from, the apple or pear industry across the supply chain.   

Sue Finger is has established excellence in the pome-fruit industry, showing leadership in the advancement through her efforts in education, volunteering, advocacy, research and development and extension.  

A third-generation apple grower, Sue is a deserving recipient who has demonstrated excellence throughout her career. 

Sue’s journey has been marked by a number of key roles within the Yarra Valley fruit growing industry, having also served as President of the Horticultural Group of the VFF and subsequently as a Board Member for the VFF for six years.  

Sue was also the first female Board Member appointed to Hort Innovation’s inaugural Board of Directors when the organisation was formed and went on to serve a commendable seven years on the Board. 

A champion of the seasonal worker program for over a decade and showing great passion for industry advancement through her efforts lobbying government for change, we congratulate the recipient of the 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award, Sue Finger. 

Featured Image

Young Grower of the Year Award – Joseph Napoleone 

The Young Grower of the Year award goes to an individual who has championed the industry’s success and has shown a commitment to innovation to help define the next generation of growers.   

Overseeing Victorian sales in the family business and assisting with the end-to-end orchard operations, Joseph has taken a keen interest in the business and more broadly the industry at large.   

Taking learnings from growers and peers in apple and pears as well as like-minded industries, Joseph is focused on developing his networks to improve their knowledge and understanding, advocating for the growth and improvement of sustainable business practices.   

Demonstrating the eagerness and enthusiasm we hope to see come through in the next generation of the industry, we congratulate the recipient of Young Grower of the Year for 2023, Joseph Napoleone. 

Featured Image
Featured Image
Featured Image

Women in Horticulture – Ann Lyster 

The Women in Horticulture Award goes to a female industry leader who has demonstrated outstanding success in their chosen field and has been proactive and committed to achieving success in the industry and mentoring women in horticulture.  

Ann Lyster was pivotal in the early days of the Cripps Pink development, championing international partnerships to introduce the variety to the UK.   

She is committed and motivated to ensuring the industry’s future and continues to dedicate her time to mentoring many women within the horticulture industry, championing female orchardists, business managers, marketers, executive officers and technical support officers.  

Holding roles including Chair of the Fruit West Co-operative, and Chair of the Sustainable Rural Development Group government reference group, APAL congratulates the recipient of the 2023 Women in Horticulture Award, Ann Lyster.   

Featured Image

Research and Extension Provider of the Year – Kevin Dodds 

 The Research and Extension Provider of the Year recipient is Kevin Dodds. Kevin has a track record of research or extension work that has advanced the apple and pear industry, offering long-term industry benefits. 

Kevin is renowned for his “grower first” mentality and has been an active member of the NSW apple industry for over 23 years. 

Kevin has played a pivotal role in supporting the industry through various natural disasters, from hailstorms to frost and the 2020 Batlow bushfires. 

A longstanding FLA for the Future Orchards program, a research provider of PIPS programs and responsible for the delivery of several IPDM programs we congratulate Kevin as the 2023 recipient of the Research and Extension Provider of the Year Award. 

Featured Image
Featured Image
Featured Image

Marketer of the Year Award – Jenny Mercer 

Marketer of the Year is open to individuals or teams from across the industry that have shown excellence in marketing apples or pears in domestic or international markets through campaigns, programs and new market opportunities.  

Jenny continues to be a front-runner of innovative marketing campaigns, including QR-code-driven promotions and website activities for children.   

Jenny has worked to secure export deals for Bravo apples across Southeast Asia and the UAE through locally driven global marketing campaigns and is always thinking outside the box to respond to challenging marketing environments.  

Featured Image

Environment and Sustainability Award – Andrew Smith 

In its first year, the Environment and Sustainability Award is awarded to an individual or team who has demonstrated excellence in adopting environmentally friendly practices and sustainable initiatives within the apple and pear industry.   

Andrew Smith leads the charge on sustainability initiatives and waste reduction in the organisation and is committed to removing single-use plastics on a commercial scale.   

Andrew is also responsible for spearheading the move to becoming Australia’s first organic apple orchard to use 100% certified home compostable packaging for fruit.

Featured Image
Featured Image
Featured Image

Agritourism Award – Glenn and Jo-Anne Fahey 

The Agritourism Award is open to an individual, team or business that demonstrates excellence in the promotion of apples and pears through programs and initiatives that shine a positive light on the industry.   

Glenn and Jo-Anne Fahey have successfully transitioned from being ordinary apple farmers to fruit-picking tour guides, cider makers, guest house proprietors and on-farm event managers.   

They’ve used the power of social media to reach over 15,000 followers driving awareness and education about the fruit industry, its people and processes and their orchard has featured on numerous lifestyle-media programs including The Living Room and Better Homes & Gardens, as well as numerous newspapers and radio programs.